(EFFINGHAM, Illinois – July 19, 2021) — Megan McMahon has been named the recipient of the Delbert and Maradyl Facklam Scholarship. Megan is a 2021 graduate of Teutopolis High School and plans to attend Eastern Illinois University.

The Delbert and Maradyl Facklam Scholarship is open to seniors at Teutopolis High School and is awarded based on an essay entitled “How I Plan to Give Back to My Community” as well as academic achievement and financial aid.

The scholarship was established by the late Delbert Facklam, for the purpose of perpetuating higher education opportunities for Teutopolis High School graduates in memory of the Teutopolis High School faculty and classmates of the Class of 1939. Mr. Facklam was born in Stewardson, Illinois, and attended St. Michael’s School in Sigel until his senior year, where he attended Teutopolis High School. After retiring from the U.S. Navy, Mr. Facklam lived most of his adult life in California. However, he never abandoned the regional area where he spent his earliest years.

The Delbert and Maradyl Facklam Scholarship is a fund of the Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation. Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation manages more than 180 affiliated funds for the immediate and long-term benefit of communities in southeastern Illinois. For more information, contact Amanda Lessley, President/CEO of Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation, at 217.342.4988 or amanda@enrichingourcommunity.org.

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation was established in 2009 as a result of a merger between Effingham County Community Foundation (est. 1999) and Mattoon Area Community Foundation (est. 1980). Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization managing permanent and non-permanent assets for the long-term benefit of communities in southeastern Illinois.